Solo and Small Firm Section
News from the Section
Message From The Chair
By Terry A. Szucsko
As Chair of the Solo and Small Firm Section, I feel it's my duty to let you know what your membership in the section means. Your membership provides you the resources to grow your law firm and to accomplish your goals by providing what you want most: networking, education, and practice and skills development.
We meet that need through our many membership benefits, including (1) complimentary subscriptions to Big News for Solo & Small Firms, along with the monthly e-newsletter; (2) numerous in-person MCLE programs and webinars throughout the state as well as in-person events for members to network and develop business; (3) the opportunity to write an article for either the e-newsletter and/or the Big News; (4) the opportunity to speak or create a program to speak to our members; and (5) 6 hours of free MCLE credits and discounts with CEB.
We invite all our members to take advantage of these benefits and everything else the section as to offer.
Striking Out on Your Own -- A Networking Reception
The Litigation Section and the Solo and Small Firm Section of The State Bar of California present
Striking Out on Your Own:
Tips on How to Open a Law Office from Those Who Have Done It!
Monday, April 18, 2016
5:30 p.m. - 7 p.m.
Complimentary pizza and refreshments will be served
Southwestern Law School
Westmoreland Building. Room 523
3050 Wilshire Blvd.
Los Angeles 90010
- Building Your Practice Through Networking
- Technology and Software Needs
- Finding Office Space
- Service Providers (Copiers, Court Reporting, Process Servers,
- Attorney Service, etc.)
- Fee Agreements & Trust Accounts
- Employment Law 101
- Cynthia Elkins, Founder, Elkins Employment Law
- Luan Tran, Founder, KLT Legal (Ex-Founder, Lee Tran & Liang LLP)
There is no charge for this event. To secure your seat, please RSVP to email@example.com.
Webinar: What to Do When the State Bar Calls
Tuesday, May 24, 2016, 10 a.m. - 11 a.m.
This program offers 1 hour participatory MCLE credit in Legal Ethics. You must register in advance to participate.
When the State Bar receives an ethics complaint against a lawyer, it sends out an investigation letter to which the Member has an obligation to respond. This program discusses the steps an attorneys should take in responding to the State Bar and common mistakes attorneys make in responding.
Speaker: Megan Zavieh
In The Know
California Court of Appeals
Civil Procedure (Anti-SLAPP, Discovery, Mental Exams, Motion to Intervene, Motion to Vacate Default Judgment, Nonsuits)
Garibotti v. Hinkle (2015) _ Cal.App.4th _ , 2015 WL 9484138: The Court of Appeal reversed the trial court’s order granting defendant’s motion to vacate a default judgment. The Court of Appeal concluded that Code of Civil Procedure section 663a’s 60-day time frame for ruling on a motion to vacate a default judgment is mandatory and jurisdictional. Any order purporting to rule on the motion after the period lapses is beyond the court’s jurisdiction and void. (C.A. 4th, December 29, 2015.) Read more.
Up To Date
Notice Regarding California Public Records Act, State Bar Membership No. 283168
Effective January 1, 2016, the State Bar of California is subject to the California Public Records Act (CPRA). (Gov. Code sections 6250, et seq.) The State Bar roll of attorneys, including official membership information, has always been and remains public; however, this information will now be subject to public records requests pursuant to CPRA.
Business and Professions Code section 6002.1 requires State Bar members to maintain a “current office address and telephone number or, if no office is maintained, the address to be used for State Bar purposes.” Please note, California Rules of Court, rule 9.7 requires members to provide a confidential email address for State Bar communications; you also have the option to provide an email address and a fax number for public disclosure on the State Bar website. Read more.
Big News for Solo and Small Firms
Our Section Magazine, Big News for Solo and Small Firms, is back as a quarterly publication. If you are a Section member, you should have been receiving our new and improved magazine.
We are currently accepting articles for our Annual Meeting edition. Please contact our editor, Henry S. David at: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Practice Books Available for Purchase
As a sole practitioner or the head of a small firm, you must act as so much more than just CEO; you also must also wear the hats of Chief Financial Officer, Human Resources Director, Chief Technology Officer, and more. The California Guide to Opening and Managing a Law Office is your personal executive team.
The California Guide to Growing and Managing a Law Office addresses what can be both a lawyer's most rewarding and challenging professional experience. The goal of this book, is to make it less challenging and more rewarding. It picks up where book one, "The California Guide to Opening a Law Office", left off, exploring the challenges of growing a law practice in detail.
Available in State Bar Sections Bookstore.
Thank You for Being a Section Member - Here's 6 Hours MCLE in Legal Ethics!
We're very grateful for your membership in the Section. As a token of that, we're offering six hours of self-study MCLE credit in the area of Legal Ethics. The programs are posted in our Member's Only Area.
Simply watch the programs and read the accompanying materials, and keep track of having done so. You can report this to the State Bar when it's time to demonstrate your compliance with the MCLE requirements.
Ongoing Opportunities for Self-Study & Participatory MCLE Credit
Online CLE for Participatory Credit
View Solo and Small Firm Section programs over the internet for participatory MCLE credit. Choose from hundreds of hours of official State Bar of California MCLE programs. to see all the programs put on by the Solo and Small Firm Section, see Solo programs. To explore the catalog at large, see www.calbar.org/online-cle.
Online articles from Section publications are available for self-study MCLE credit. Each article is worth 1 hour of self-study credit. It's easy ... read an article and then take a 20 question quiz. The answers and justifications are available immediately upon submitting the quiz. You can earn up to 12.5 hours of self-study credit per reporting period. For more information, see our online catalog of articles.
Solo and Small Firm Section
The State Bar of California
180 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94105-1639